Home » Holidays

Holidays

School Term Dates (From OIC)

 

2021 / 2022 (all dates are inclusive)

Term 1 Tuesday 17 August – Wednesday 6 October (37 days).

October holidays Thursday 7 October – Friday 22 October.

Term 2 Monday 25 October – Tuesday 21 December (42 days).

Christmas holidays Wednesday 22 December – Tuesday 4 January.

Term 3 Wednesday 5 January – Friday 1 April (60 days).

Schools closed Friday 11 February – Tuesday 15 February.

Spring holidays Monday 4 April – Monday 18 April
(Easter Monday 18 April)

Term 4 Tuesday 19 April – Thursday 30 June (51 days).

Schools closed Monday 2 May (May Day holiday).

Schools closed Monday 6 June.

Staff Only, In-service days are:

  • Monday 16 August.
  • Thursday 7 – Friday 8 October.
  • Tuesday 15 February.
  • Monday 6 June.

2022 / 2023 (all dates are inclusive)

Term 1 Tuesday 16 August – Wednesday 5 October (37 days).

October holidays Thursday 6 October – Friday 21 October.

Term 2 Monday 24 October – Wednesday 21December (43 days).

Christmas holidays Thursday 22 December – Wednesday 4January.

Term 3 Thursday 5 January – Friday 31 March (59 days).

Schools closed Friday 10 February – Tuesday 14 February.

Spring holidays Monday 3 April – Friday 14 April
(Easter Monday 10 April)

Term 4 Monday 17 April – Wednesday 28 June (51 days).

Schools closed Monday 1 May (May Day holiday).

Schools closed Monday 5 June.

Staff Only, In-service days are:

  • Monday 15 August
  • Thursday 6 – Friday 7 October
  • Tuesday 14 February
  • Monday 5 June

 

 

 

Facebook

1 week ago

Stromness Academy

***COVID-19 guidance reminder for staff and pupils returning to the classroom***(Lorraine) The Council is reminding school staff and pupils of COVID-19 measures still in place to try and keep everyone safe as they return to the classroom after the October break.The Scottish Government have been asking for some time now that people undertake twice-weekly lateral flow device tests and this has also been the case for staff and secondary pupils in schools. With all schools across the county due back on Monday, 25 October, we would appeal to all our school staff and secondary pupils to schedule one of their regular LFD tests shortly before they return – as was the advice following the summer break.Orkney Islands Council Executive Director of Education, Leisure and Housing, James Wylie, said: “Following the recent outbreak and in the build up to the October holidays we saw significant engagement in the LFD process. It is imperative that we pick up where we left off. All school staff and secondary pupils are strongly encouraged to restart twice-weekly at-home LFD testing in the week prior to return. The advice states that ideally, staff and secondary pupils should take the second weekly test either in the morning before leaving for the first day of school or the evening before.“It is really important that you record your results online, whether positive, negative or void. This helps public health experts understand what levels of COVID-19 are and can inform policy on things like future mitigations in schools.“Testing can help reduce the risks of COVID-19 outbreaks in schools. This, in turn, can help reduce the numbers of staff or children and young people that will have to self-isolate due to outbreaks.”All schools offered test kits to staff and pupils prior to the October break, which can be used for these purposes. If any staff or pupils have not received test kits, they can access them in a range of different ways, including ordering online for home delivery, or collecting kits from your nearest test site or pharmacy, such as Sutherlands in Kirkwall and Stromness, and Boots.

See MoreSee Less

View on Facebook

Disclaimer

Stromness Academy seeks to ensure that the information published on its website is up-to-date and accurate. However, the information on the website does not constitute legal or professional advice and Stromness Academy cannot accept any liability for actions or consequences arising from its use. Stromness Academy cannot be held responsible for the contents of any other website accessed through a link on our site. Stromness Academy provides these links as a convenience and inclusion of a link does not imply endorsement by Stromness Academy of an external site.